The Philippine Environmental Impact Statement System: Framework, Implementation, Performance and Challenges


The Philippines has a unitary government with a multi-tiered structure ( Figure 1 ). At the top is the central or national government op erating through more than 20 executive departments and specialized agencies. The coun try is divided into 16 geographic regions where national government agencies maintain re gional offices. With the exception of the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM) which has been given special autonomy, these regions are mere administrati ve subdivisions and do not have regional governments. The second tiers of government are the provinces and chartered cities. There are currently 80 provinces each headed by a Governor and 61 chartered cities each headed by a City Mayor. The third tier of government is the municipalities and component cities which comprise the prov inces. Finally, the chartered cities, municipalities and component cities are further subdivided into barangays which are the smallest political unit. There are cu rrently 56 component cities, some 1,500 municipalities and about 40,000 barangays. The provinces, cities, municipalities and barangays comprise the local government units.

Source InstitutionWorld Bank
Source URL
Page Count110
Place of PublicationPasig City
Original Publication DateJune 1, 2007