Millenium Development Goals (MDG) Localization


As a signatory to the Millennium Declaration in 2000, the Philippines together with 189 UN member states committed to address the global targets set against the eight (8) Millennium Development Goals (MDGs).

The Millennium Development Goals are the world’s time-bound and quantified targets for
addressing extreme poverty and worst form of human depivation in its many dimensions-income poverty, hunger, disease, lack of adequate shelter, and exclusion-while promoting gender equality, education, and environment sustainability.The eight MDGs are:
Goal 1. Eradicate extreme poverty and hunger,
Goal 2. Achieve universal primary education,
Goal 3. Promote gender equality and empower women,
Goal 4. Reduce child mortality,
Goal 5. Improve maternal health,
Goal 6. Combat HIVs/AIDs, malaria and other infectious diseases,
Goal 7. Ensure environmental sustainability, and
Goal 8. Develop a global partnership for development.

Meeting the requirements of the MDGs will entail collaborative efforts of major stakeholders - the national and local government units (LGUs) as well as the private sector
through related interventions geared toward mainstreaming the MDGs in the local development agenda.

Source InstitutionDepartment of Interior and Local Government
Source URL
Page Count4
Place of PublicationQuezon City
Original Publication Date
Tags Goals, MDG, Millenium